New York State to Ban Gas Stoves

Armstrong Economics Blog/Climate Re-Posted May 8, 2023 by Martin Armstrong

New York approved a $229 billion budget plan laced with restrictions. New buildings under seven stories will be prohibited from using gas stoves by 2026, and taller buildings will face the same ban in 2029. There will be some exceptions for places like hospitals and restaurants, but newly constructed buildings will be forced to use electric.

This is the first ban of its kind at the state level. Berkeley, California, was the first US city to ban gas cooking in 2019. Other blue cities have followed suit and this will be the first of many restrictions they place on the people to combat naturally occurring climate change.

Senate Majority Leader Charles Schumer told the public in February 2023 that the idea of a ban on gas stoves was nothing more than a MAGA conspiracy theory. “At first you have to laugh at the ‘gas stove ban’ narrative being cooked up by the MAGA GOP,” Schumer stated. The Energy Department and the commissioner of the Consumer Product Safety Commission also denied the claims. Similar to Obama’s claim that you could keep your doctor, Democrats are claiming that you can keep your stove and this will only apply to new construction.

Ted Cruz and Joe Manchin attempted to pass the Gas Stove Protection and Freedom Act. “The federal government has no business telling American families how to cook their dinner,” Manchin said. “The last thing that would ever leave our house is the gas stove we cook on, and I will continue to fight any overreach by the Consumer Product Safety Commission.”

All of these small sacrifices will add up. They’re slowly implementing one restriction after the next so the public does not see what is happening.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.